.

.

January 29, 2011

Heart of the Matter


Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin
Fiction
2010 St. Martin’s Press
Finished on 1/4/11
Rating: 3.5/5 (Good)
FTC Disclosure: Received ARC from publisher via B&N



Publisher’s Blurb:

Tessa Russo is a stay-at-home mother of two young children and the wife of Nick Russo, a renowned pediatric surgeon. Valerie Anderson is an attorney and single mother to six-year-old Charlie—a little boy who has never known his father. Although both women live in the same upscale Boston suburb, the two have relatively little in common, at least on paper. But one night, while Charlie is at a sleepover, a split-second accident sends him to the hospital and Dr. Russo. From that night forward, everyone is changed forever, their lives intersecting in ways no one could have imagined.

In alternating points of view, Giffin tells a story of three good people caught in an untenable triangle, each questioning everything they once believed about love and loyalty. And each ultimately discovering what is truly at the heart of the matter.

Every now and then, I like to try an author or book that one of my customers has suggested. I give them my recommendations so it only seems fair, right? It’s also no secret that I like to read a bit of fluff every once in a while.

Coming off a very hectic holiday season, I perused my shelves in search of just that sort of novel and came across an ARC of Heart of the Matter. The book was released in May, so it’s not one that I’ve had lurking for too long. (Some of my ARCs are easily a decade old!) While I have no marked passages to share, I did enjoy Giffin’s writing and was quickly drawn in to the narrative. The engaging dialogue and alternating points of view made for an easy read. That said, this is not the sort of book I’d recommend for a book club. Other than one engrossing and occasionally disturbing aspect of the plot, there simply wouldn’t be much to discuss. This isn’t a meaty novel like Loving Frank, Left Neglected, or Every Last One. I’ll probably forget most of the details in a month or two, but while I was reading, I was definitely entertained. However, I’m not sure I’m ready to dive into Giffin’s backlist. I think most of her books are geared to a younger reader. Fans of Jennifer Weiner, Cecelia Ahern and Sophie Kinsella are likely to enjoy Heart of the Matter. How about you? If you’d like my ARC, please leave me a comment with your email address and I’ll draw a name on Valentine’s Day.


Go here to read an interview with the author on Bookreporter.com.

7 comments:

  1. This sounds like a book I'd like to read.

    forwhlz at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've read all of her books and have really enjoyed them. This one was a good read for me too.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I enjoy books like this now and then, especially in between the more meatier books. I am glad you enjoyed this one, Lesley!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sandy Jay - Got your name in the hat. Good luck!

    Staci - Ooops. I missed your review! Off to read it right now.

    Wendy - Shall I throw your name in the hat? This might be just the fluff you need right now.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sure, Lesley! It may be just what the doctor ordered. :-)

    literaryfeline@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've only read one book by her. I do have this one on my iPod. I'm not hurrying to get to it, but was glad to see a "good" rating from you.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Joy - Might make for a good summer read when you need some brain candy.

    ReplyDelete

I may not answer your comments in a timely fashion, but I always answer. Check back soon!