.

.

October 16, 2020

Looking Back - Remember Me

Looking Back... In an effort to transfer my book journal entries over to this blog, I'm going to attempt to post (in chronological order) an entry every Friday. I may or may not add extra commentary to what I jotted down in these journals. 



Fiction
1999 Henry Holt and Company
Read in January 2000
Rating: 4/5 (Very Good)

Publisher's Blurb:

In the tradition of Barbara Kingsolver and E. Annie Proulx, this enthralling first novel tells the story of a woman who trusts nothing except her own ability to survive.

Meet Rose Devonic, the wily and ferociously determined twenty-nine-year-old who is as unorthodox as any in recent fiction. Rose lives in the tiny mountain town of Queduro, New Mexico, where she--like most others--makes her living selling embroidery. But Rose has no home or family. In winter she sleeps in a cold cabin in a mostly abandoned motel, and in summer she lives out of her car. A tragedy in her past, which serves as a constant reminder to neighbors of their complicity, has made her an outcast. Determined though she is to make a fresh start, Rose is haunted by a past that continually threatens to engulf her. Only by facing down her ghosts--and her hometown--will she learn to accept the ultimately liberating challenges of belonging, identity, and love.

My Original Thoughts (2000):

Very good novel! I wish it weren't Hendrie's first - I want to read more of her books! It reminded me a little bit of Barbara Kingsolver and Kent Haruf's writing. Thought-provoking topics (aging, nursing homes, etc.). Sad, yet well-worth reading. Engrossing.

My Current Thoughts:

I've had a copy of this book on my shelf for 20 years, with great intentions of reading it a second time. It will be on the top of my re-read stack for my personal challenge in December. I remember it so fondly and hope it stands the test of time.

8 comments:

  1. This sounds good, especially since you plan to re-read it, so I may be looking for a copy.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Vicki, I don't think it got much recognition when it was published, but I sure enjoyed it.

      Delete
  2. Any book that rate a reread, has some merit.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jenclair, it will be interesting to see if I still like it after all these years!

      Delete
  3. This looks intruiging! I'm going to try to find it at my library. I love your quote by RBG in your sidebar...so true.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Laurel, isn't that a great quote?! Let me know if you can't find the book. If not, I would be happy to send it your way once I re-read it in December.

      Delete
  4. We are planning a trip to Arizona in a few weeks and I think this book might be a good one to bring along, if I can find a copy. Thanks for sharing it, Les.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Deb, I'm glad you are planning to get away for a little bit!! I hope you can find a copy of the book.

      Delete

I may not answer your comments in a timely fashion, but I always answer. Check back soon!